Staying Active

After a week of worthlessness I’ve vowed to never let that happen again. I am making sure to do things, rather than think of all the things I have to do. It’s easy to get overwhelemed when there is so much to do. But if you get overwhelmed you won’t get any of it done.

I’ve been working hard to make sure I stay active, and shake of the thick feelings of lonliness and hoplessness I had last week. I’ve been riding my bike a lot more. Getting out and exercising wakes me up, and forces me to get started on the day. And what better way is there to start the day than a crisp bike ride followed by a warm shower?

This weekend helped me too. Smiles came back and I spent a lot of good time with her. I also hung out with another friend from college. This refreshed and reenergized me for the upcoming week. Now I’m excited about having more interactions instead of thinking of the difficulties of them.

I followed through on my plans to volunteer at Philly Aids Thrift, I’m going to be there Tuesday and Thursday afternoon. And I am about to look for more jobs in the area and try and find some meetup groups to join. Being alone for long times to me doesn’t encourage anything good, except maybe getting what I’m doing done so I can go back and be with people again.

Finally, this week I talked to Iceberg and my parents this past week about the real world and about moving. Conclusions: 1. Moving is hard. It’s hard going somewhere new and finding new friends. Work is an good place to start, but it’s much harder finding good friends. 2. The best friends you’ll have are probably from college.

Knowing this information I’m going to try harder to get okay friends, instead of great friends, and work on maintaning old friendship too. If college friendships are that great, then I never want to loose them, even if I talk to them at most monthly.

One thought on “Staying Active

  1. Are you surprised that I think college friendships ARE great and important? When I moved to a new city across the country, I felt the same way, all the time. And there were tree roaches. It was bad. But I also think it also has to do with our socialization, because we’re all taught since we were 5 to be on a regimen of school and keep to it for what seems like forever. But when that ends for most of our generation today, there are no shining jobs and new routines waiting to pick up the pace where school left us, all pathetic and standing there holding empty backpacks. But it will get better, I swear! And remember how much people love you!!

Something to say?

