My First Job Offer.. NOT

After applying for jobs for weeks now I’ve gotten my first response. I was excited at first. But quickly realized that it was a scam.
Me  Thu, Jan 19, 2012 at 10:13 PM:

Hello,

I am interested in the position of Operations Personnel you have advertised on craigslist. Please accept my attached resume as an application for this position. My resume highlights my past work experience. I am very detail oriented and possess excellent organizational skills. I believe I would be a good fit for this job because I have experience multi-tasking working as a community organizer and a bicycle mechanic. Both jobs helped me to figure out how to prioritize and get things done thoroughly and quickly. I am also computer literate and am very willing to learn and acquire new skills, which may help me in this position. Please let me know if I can provide you with any further information.

Thank you for your time I look forward to hearing from you,
Him  Fri, Jan 20, 2012 at 7:59 AM:
Dear Applicant,
Your resume was received and reviewed by my HR dept, after close consideration, you have been shortlisted and offered a job with our company.

My name is Frank Jadhavji, i am the CEO of Surplus Sourcing Group. Surplus Sourcing Group basically deals with sales and distribution of PC related products. We have been in business since 1987. Our company TAX ID # is 91-2157285 and DUNNS # is 128600355 for your personal review. I’m looking for someone that can be trusted and reliable to work very well with good understanding. We are establishing a new location in your area which you will be a part of the team upon completion. This position is a part time position for now and flexible and it will be full time upon completion of our new office. I’ll need your services 2-3 times weekly which should be about 10-12 hours weekly. We will set up a formal interview as soon as i am back in the states to sign the necessary documents.

Tasks:really would
* Routine filing, accounting tasks, computer work, personal errands, property maintenance in addition to bookkeeping. I have been checking my files and i’ll need you to run some errands for me this week, i will get you more information on that. I will also have some funds sent to you to carry out the assignments as well as your weekly salary.

Pay:
You will receive a weekly salary of $350. There is also a very sensitive issue on trust and accountability which I believe will resolve itself as time goes on. This is only an introductory e-mail, as time goes on we should be able to arrange a proper meeting to get things started officially. Kindly get back with your contact details as below so we can proceed to the next step.

Personal Information
First Name:
Last Name:
Address(P.O box not allowed):
Apt #:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Sex:
Mobile (For SMS):

Applicant should also be HONEST and TRUSTWORTHY
Once i have received your contact information, my HR dept will get back to you with an employment agreement form and also the next steps and tasks. Your information requested is needed for our company database as an employee and i assure you that your information is safe and will not be shared.

Thanks in anticipation of your prompt response.
Regards,

Frank Jadhavji
CEO
Surplus Sourcing Group

Right of the bat I was almost sure it wasn’t a real job. He included to many awkward details like Tax ID number and already brought up the need for Trustworthy people. The problem is I would love to have a job so I decided to respond giving all factual information, hoping that I was wrong.

Me   Fri, Jan 20, 2012 at 9:05 AM:

I am excited to potentially work for you. I believe that my experience in customer service and organizational skills is a good fit for this job.

Personal Information
Address: ###############
Apt #: #####
City: Philadelphia
State: Pa
Zip Code: 19130
Sex: Male
Mobile (For SMS): ###-###-####

Thank you for your time,

Him  Fri, Jan 20, 2012 at 12:32 PM:

Hello ############,

How are you? I have attached a picture of me to this email so you can add a face to my name, would be glad if you can attach yours in your reply. As they say, punctuality is the soul of business. I believe promptness is key if any business is to thrive. I want to thank you for your prompt response and after much consideration, I have decided to give you a trial so as to know how honest, sincere, and confident you are, also to know if i can trust you my funds. I sent you text messages from (818) 900-1282 but didnt get a response from you. I will send you a schedule this week with a list of assignments to complete and i will also send you some funds to complete the assignments as well as your salary.

I will like to know how often you get on the internet because our job requires much checking of your email and do you have access to any instant messenger? Also let me know if you have a car to move around on assignment so i can make arrangements for transportation/gas bonus on every assignments you need to move around.

Your trial stage begins immediately you acknowledge this email, my HR will send you an employment agreement to sign and i will have a paycheck sent to you for the first task as i mentioned in my initial email as well as your salary. Let me know when you are ready to start.

Thanks in anticipation of your prompt response.
Regards,

Frank Jadhavji
CEO
Surplus Sourcing Inc

Now I had lost all hope that he was real. Not only had I got the job without an interview, but I was just hired by the CEO that quickly. He also hadn’t texted me at all. I googled the guys last name in google images and found a picture of him. The picture is of an Anwar Jadhavji who is COO for a different company. I was disappointed but curious when the scam was going to come to fruition so I responded back having a little fun saying that I was going to run the errands via bike and sending a picture of a Canadian TV star instead of myself.

Me  Fri, Jan 20, 2012 at 3:49 PM:

Hey Frank Jadhavji,
I’ve attached my picture. Sorry I didn’t respond to your text message I was away from my phone. I get on the Internet quite frequently I would say about every other hour. Finally I do have a car if that is necessary for the assignments, however I prefer to travel via bike. Parking is easier and it’s much better exercise.

I will be waiting patiently for your mail as well as the employment papers from your HR department so that I can fill them out as well.

Sadly he has yet to respond but I have excitedly checked my mail every day since then.

Also before I forget I also called his phone number *67 style. I assumed it wouldn’t work because I hadn’t gotten a text from him and I couldn’t look him up on Spokeo. Turns out someone did answer. I asked him if it was Frank. A younger male answered “yes”. I then asked is this Frank JAdajavihi, Jadaveejeeh, Jadhavji? He said yes and then asked who I was. Startled that it was a real person and one claiming to be Frank Jadhavji I hung up.

Hopefully that doesn’t affect my status as a employee of Surplus Sourcing Group Inc.

10 thoughts on “My First Job Offer.. NOT

  1. Same situation… here in Sacramento, CA.
    Job post said, “An upscale flooring company in sacramento is seeking an Executive Assistant/Office Manager” … and the response was pretty much identical except it came from Philip Johnson. Before I replied, I google’d the tax id number and found your post. =)
    At some point, I’m sure some poor person gives them their SSN and then look out fake ID here it comes! What a scam!

  2. Holy Hell I’m glad this is up, I sent my resume and have gotten two different responses. I’m in Kansas City, mo and well I got one from a Phillip Johnson also. Glad i searched the tax Id.

    • I also got an email from Philip Johnson and sent my info and did receive a check. Philip stated that I should deduct $350 for my salary and the rest I was to send to a woman, which he provided the info
      Needless to say, I did not cash the check because I then knew it was a scam. I too am from Sacramento so please DO NOT SEND ANY OF YOUR PERSONAL INFO. These people are scam artist preying on people who are just honestly looking for work!!!!

  3. I too got one almost quid pro quo from a Philip Johnson last night (5/29/12). I live in Portland and have been eagerly searching for a job. At first I was hopefull, but soon a bit leary of being given a job and tasks to complete without any kind of personal meeting. Luckily my boyfriend told me right away to stay the hell away from anything like this kind of scam. They will leave you committing a felony and screwed!!!

  4. My email said:

    “CONGRATULATIONS!

    I got your resume and it has been reviewed, i am happy to inform you that after close consideration with your resume, you have been accepted and given provision appointment. Below are our company details and personal data for you review, please be reminded that you cannot share this information with a third party.

    DBA-Surplus Sourcing Inc

    Type of Business Computer Wholesales

    Tax ID Number 91-2157285

    Dun & Bradstreet 128600355 for memoryX (Affliated Company)

    I’m looking for someone that can be trusted and reliable to work very well with good understanding. This position is a part time position and flexible, your activities amongst other things will include; Running personal errands, supervisions and monitoring. Scheduling programmes, flights and keeping me up to date with them. Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence while I’m away. Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf. Handling and monitoring some of my financial activities.

    Basic wage is $400 Weekly, i’m sure you’ll understand i tend to have a very busy schedule at this point as i am presently in the Canada, i will be back in three Weeks. We will set up a formal interview as soon as i am back in the states to sign the necessary documents.

    I have been checking my files and i’ll need you to run some errands for me this week, i will get you more information on that. There is also a very sensitive issue on trust and accountability which I believe will resolve itself as time goes on. This is only an introductory e-mail, as time goes on we should be able to arrange a proper meeting to get things started officially. I will like you to get back to me with your Contact Details such as:

    Personal Information

    First Name:

    Last Name:

    Address(P.O box not allowed):

    City:

    State:

    Zip Code:

    Age:

    Sex:

    Residential Phone Number:

    Mobile (For SMS):

    The employee,acknowledged the Detailed Job Description

    and signed___________________________________________

    (First Name and Last Name of Employee)

    Kindly reply with your information. Once i have received your contact information, I will get back to you with the next steps and tasks. Your information requested is needed for our company database as an employee and i assure you that your information is safe and will not be shared.

    Thanks in anticipation of your prompt response.

    Best regards,

    Philip Johnson

    Director

    Surplus Sourcing Inc”

  5. Yikes! I got the response from Philip Johnson and the job advertised was for “pet and house sitter”! Im glad I did research before sending my info!

  6. CONGRATULATIONS!

    I got your resume and it has been reviewed, i am happy to inform you that after close consideration with your resume, you have been accepted and given provision appointment. Below are our company details and personal data for you review, please be reminded that you cannot share this information with a third party.

    DBA-Surplus Sourcing Inc
    Type of Business Computer Wholesales
    Tax ID Number 91-2157285
    Dun & Bradstreet 128600355 for memoryX (Affliated Company)

    I’m looking for someone that can be trusted and reliable to work very well with good understanding. This position is a part time position and flexible, your activities amongst other things will include; Running personal errands, supervisions and monitoring. Scheduling programmes, flights and keeping me up to date with them. Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence while I’m away. Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf. Handling and monitoring some of my financial activities.

    Basic wage is $400 Weekly, i’m sure you’ll understand i tend to have a very busy schedule at this point as i am presently in the Canada, i will be back in three Weeks. We will set up a formal interview as soon as i am back in the states to sign the necessary documents.

    I have been checking my files and i’ll need you to run some errands for me this week, i will get you more information on that. There is also a very sensitive issue on trust and accountability which I believe will resolve itself as time goes on. This is only an introductory e-mail, as time goes on we should be able to arrange a proper meeting to get things started officially. I will like you to get back to me with your Contact Details such as:

    Personal Information
    First Name:
    Last Name:
    Address(P.O box not allowed):
    City:
    State:
    Zip Code:
    Age:
    Sex:
    Residential Phone Number:
    Mobile (For SMS):

    The employee,acknowledged the Detailed Job Description
    and signed___________________________________________
    (First Name and Last Name of Employee)

    Kindly reply with your information. Once i have received your contact information, I will get back to you with the next steps and tasks. Your information requested is needed for our company database as an employee and i assure you that your information is safe and will not be shared.

    Thanks in anticipation of your prompt response.

    Best regards,
    Christina Blumenkrantz

    Director
    Surplus Sourcing Inc

  7. Same here from a markhamilton2066@gmail.com Mark Hamilton. Beware of those Craigslist post, people are trying to make an honest living and you got idiots like these trying to scam you. Don’t give your personal information. Just flag the post and Flag them in your email to. They used another email Jose something 222111@gmail.com just be careful. If it looks to good to be true it probably is. Remember real Hard-Work is what pays off.

  8. Hi folks, Not all Craigslist job ads are scams. But any “employer” who asks for your personal info before asking for references and a personal interview should be suspect. I regularly post ads on Craigslist for attendants for my consumers who are physically disabled. I do not ask for SSN, birth date, etc. until after the person has been interviewed, two references have been called, they have met with my consumer and he/she has agreed to hire them. Then we collect the personal data for the background checks required by PA state law and for the payroll company to deduct taxes. To stop these evil scammers, please report them to your state attorney general’s office.

Something to say?

