The World is Your Oyster

On the megabus ride I realized some exciting things I’d like to share:

Right now I feel so free. I feel like I can do anything. In school all you look forward to is summer or the next year. There is just always something next. Being a high schooler, not being a freshman, being an upperclassman, being a senior, being in college, being done with college. But when you actually are done there is nothing else to wait for. All there is is life.

It’s a pretty scary thing. You are finally in charge, in fact you are the only one in charge. This is the time when your life truly begins. You must forge your own path. While this is thought of by many as burdensome, it should be viewed as liberating. Instead of having to find what you want to do. Try thinking of all the opportunities you have to choose from. You can do anything.

Right now I’m thinking about how I can be anywhere, and do anything. My recent day dreams have been about living in Pittsburgh, New York, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin. About having real winter, real snow. About working on bikes, building bikes, and designing bikes. They are just day dreams. So I can go wherever I want in them.

The idea of working on and potentially designing bikes has been driving a lot of my excitement. When I think about it two of my idols right now are Sheldon Brown and Grant Peterson. Both eclectic bike lovers. One who is revered for his knowledge and expertise the other for his eccentricity and out of the box designs. I don’t really know if I want to be either of them, but I love the idea of day dreaming about it. As well as the knowledge that I don’t have to decide what I want to do yet.

I mean I’m not even 23 right now. I have my whole life ahead of me, the whole world to explore. I don’t have to be married, I don’t even have to be in the United States. I think I’m going to stick with the states for now. And I’m going to stick with bikes for now, something I know and enjoy doing. Right now I’m going to see where bikes takes me. In my dreams I can be a frame designer, I can be a industrial designers, I can be anything. And in my life I can do what I like and strive to do what I enjoy.

Life it just so crazy. You can follow whatever dream you want. My only suggestion for everyone out there is just following what you like doing. It could be your passion, but it doesn’t matter as long as you like it. What else is there in life by the joy that you create for yourself.

The pressure on you is only the pressure you put on yourself. Other than that you just have to pay for rent and for food. That’s why right now I’m going to stick with what I’ve been up to recently: making tire belts and working on bikes. Maybe it’ll evolve into more, maybe not. Luckily we’ll see the changes in real time. I couldn’t handle making the decisions any faster.

2 thoughts on “The World is Your Oyster

Something to say?

