Life is Work. Work is Bikes. Life is Bikes

I have just finished day 10, 4 more to go. Yep two straight weeks of working, no days off. And you might as well call it 15 because the day before I started this run I came into work and built bikes for 5 or 6 hours.

Why you might ask? A combination of reasons, 1 we are extremely understaffed, 2 someone went on vacation, 3 I’m going on a 4 day vacation in 4 days.

I have to say it’s not that bad. I have lost all grasp of time and what day it is. It doesn’t really matter because all I have to know is that I’m going to work the following morning. It’s helped me acknowledge something I knew was true; life is work. Lucky for me I love my job.

I working on bikes so much that’s exactly what I do on my hours and days off. I look at bikes. I read about bikes. I buy books about bikes. I go on bike rides. I dream about bikes. I love every chance I get to learn more and one of the things I want to do most in my life right now is simply be a better mechanic, know more, be smarter and do it all better.

I’m a very young mechanic and I hope over the next few years I can start being more organized, thorough and knowledgeable about bicycles. Whiles I’m certain most of you think I know everything about bikes, I really don’t know that much. Especially during my blog reading sessions. I am quickly put in my place by superb mechanics who have at least 5 to 10 years of mechanic experience under their belt including some professional training.

But I still have a lot of life left and ability to learn so much more about so many different kinds of bicycles. And I even get to get paid while I learn all of this.

3 thoughts on “Life is Work. Work is Bikes. Life is Bikes

  1. Ya man, thats a good deal. It is great that you found yourself something that you like. I find happiness in hobbies like bowling and lounging around.

Something to say?

