Amusing

Tuesday was the birthday for one of my friends from college, NarNar. He was my first best friend from freshman year, met him through USAS and now I live nearby him in Philly. For his birthday his girlfriend planned a surprise day for him. First surprise: an amusement park. I had the day of So I joined him, his girlfriend and their friend.

I haven’t been to many amusement parks. I’ve been to a little park in the middle of nowhere (Knoebels) and Hershey Park once. Both times I rode very few rides, and nothing that jerked you around or resembled a roller coaster in any way. The scariest ride I was on was a log plume which scared the heck out of me. I’ve never ridden on a roller coaster and felt completely content never having done so and never doing so in my future.

But we went to Dorney Park. Half the park is roller coasters and the other half is a water park.

We got to the park and NarNar immediately ran over to a roller coaster. I decided to go on the ride with him because it was his birthday. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to go on another one afterwards but I was certainly going to go on one.

The first one I went on was the stinger. It had our legs hanging out in the air and threw us around a bunch. I got off the ride terrified. I had the hardest time just letting go of the hand holds, my hands were clamped down on them so hard. I could hardly walk, I was very confused and shaken up and had to sit down because my legs were shaking.

Narnar convinced me to stand up and go to the next ride. He said it wasn’t as bad as the first one. This one was Steel Force. It wasn’t as bad as the first one, but it certainly wasn’t enjoyable. Then I was told that those were the worse to, and after enough peer pressure I eventually rode every roller coaster at Dorney Park. I wanted to stop at first, but eventually I just wanted it to be over.

The rides made real life feel like it meant so little and effected me so little. It’s like what the Narrator of Fight Club said about fighting, “After fighting, everything else in your life got the volume turned down.”

I got through the rest of the rides and finally got to enjoy the water park half of Dorney park. It was a very nice treat to end the day: wave pool, water slides, tubes. One of the things I like most about amusement parks is that everyone is so happy and chatty. You are all there for the same reason and people feel remarkably open and kind to others, nothing like what I feel in Philly. You talk about which ride is better, if it was scary, or other chit chat about the park. It breaks down the normal barriers that people have and lets them just have a fun time.

Something to say?

