Work, Hobbies and Life

The chaos at work has left me very rattled. But it has taught me a good lesson, one I had been told before but rejected: Don’t make your hobby your work, because then you’ll loose your hobby. I did just that. Working on bikes was a fun job I did in my basement. I made some money and was happy with that. But once I started working at a shop it quickly became something else. It became work. And I no longer had a hobby

Realizing that I’ve picked up a new hobby, fixing hardware! A friend at PSU sent me her ipod to fix her headphone jack. I used ifixit‘s guide to open it up and repaired it perfectly. I realized I really enjoy taking apart those little things, so I bought myself a bunch broken cameras and am going to try to fix mine and a couple of the ones I bought. I’ll probably just poke around in them and try to figure out what is wrong. I’m pretty sure I’m going to mess up but hey it’s a hobby not a way to make money.

So if anyone has broken electronics, send them my way maybe I can fix them. Or maybe I can’t, but what do you have to loose, it’s already broken, eh?

I’ve also started to realize how I made my work my life. After being unemployed for 3 months I was going crazy and was bored out of my mind. I knew very few people and just wanted to work. So when I got a job I worked every day that I was allowed. I made work my life and I shunned the rest of my life. This didn’t really turn out that well, but now I’m picking up the pieces of my life and remembering that, “Everybody’s working for the weekend.” (even if it happens to be on Mondays and Thursdays [my days off])

And so am I know. I’m not just doing chores and lame things on my days of but I’m actually trying to relax and enjoy myself. I’ve done a pretty good job so far.

Finally one more thing I have decided to do. After watching this video Juju sent me:

I LOVE thrift shops, and I really like dressing up like a crazy person with big fur coats and bright colors. I haven’t done that for a while, but now I’m going to start again. I already have a Members Only jacket that makes me look like the front-man in a band. And I volunteer at a thrift shop so I’m not going to have a hard time getting more cool things to wear around.

Something to say?

