My New Home

I successfully made the move to Pittsburgh. Despite one roommate backing out I also moved into a house. The house is in Garfield on a nice block. The streets are clean, the houses look pretty good, and there is a nice yard with shrubbery right next to us.


I’ve moved into my room, which is expansive. I’m going to need some more furniture because there is so much more space than my last room. I’m currently only living with one person. She lives in the attic with her dog, a beagle/setter mix. Her dog is super nice, and very calm.

We are going to have 3 more roommates join us. Two of them are going to move in around the middle of the month. They are a couple and both are, as my roommate put it, “into metaphysical stuff.” One of them reads Taro cards in addition to working at Trader Joes. The other one is a pedals a bike-taxi and works at a bike shop as a bike builder.

We still have to find the last person, I’m not sure who we are gonna find. Right now I’m the only guy, so maybe we’ll look for another guy, or maybe it’ll just stay that way. But I should stop being rude and let you in the house; come on in.


Oh quiet! That’s Inky, he’s friendly. He just has a loud bark.


So this is the living room. The weird glass table came with the place. I currently have all of my bike stuff in here, but now that I’m almost done cleaning up my room I can start cleaning up my shit in the rest of the house.


This is the dining room. The new roommates have tables so it won’t be empty for long. I was also thinking of storing bikes in here permanently. I obviously would have to make a holder of some sort for them if chose to do that.


Here’s the kitchen. It’s a good-sized kitchen, gas stove, good amount of countertops and cabinets.


And you can see in the room behind the refrigerator there is hookups for a washer and dryer. I’m going to try to convince the landlord to get us those. If not maybe we’ll all pitch in and buy one. Especially considering the rent is going to be just over $200 for all of us when everyone moves in.


Oh yeah, I almost forgot. That is the backyard. It’s a project. My roommate really wants to plant a good-sized garden back there. The landlord has already said that there is plans for a fence to go in, I’m hoping he will take out the tires and wood before he does that.


/table>

The bathroom is right at the top of the stairs.


Now for the main attraction, my room! I’ve still got to clean it up a bit. I’ve got the basics of my organization system down, now I just need to put in place the final touches. My computer isn’t going to stay there, it’s just where I get the best internet access right now. Yep, free internet! That’s how I’m blogging this post right now. It’s pretty good too. It works best at night, but I can still get it sometimes during the day. I’m also looking for some furniture if you have any extra. maybe a desk or something.



There are two more rooms on the left. Those are the open rooms.


And finally my roommates room, the attic. Which is still kind of a mess. She doesn’t have much stuff at all, so the bed frame in the middle of the room and stuff strewn everywhere is probably just to fill this huge room. It’s about 28 feet long.


We’ll I’m gonna have to see you out, because I gotta get some sleep. Tomorrow is my first real day at my new job at Trek of Pittsburgh! I’m starting out as a service writer, the person who fixes flats and checks in bikes but I’m pretty certain I’ll be back just doing mechanic work soon. It’s nice too, my work is just over a mile away so I can easily bike to work, and can almost walk there.

Something to say?

