Living Life

It seems like the people closest to the edge of life are often the ones living it the most. As though one adjusts their emotions to the sight of darkness helping them realize just how bright the world really is.

Zach Sobiech is a great example of such a person. Zach had terminal cancer and didn’t have a whole lot of time left to live. Yet despite this he lived more than anyone else around him. He enjoyed life and had one of the most positive outlooks. He was featured in a video by Soulpankcake which talks about his story. It’s quite a moving story, I’d highly suggest watching it.

But I’m not writing this just to plug that movie, there are two reasons I’m sharing this with y’all. The first being that the song he wrote is stuck in my head and I figured you might want the same, it’s a pretty good song. The other is that people like Zach often really move me and remind me a bit of myself. While I certainly am not on my death bed I was in a pretty dark place for most of my mid to late teenage years. I was constantly alone and lonely, frequently miserable and thoughts of suicide crossed my mind frequently. I believe that this is part of the reason I am so empathetic and optimistic about most things.

Now for the first reason I was telling you about Zach, his song Clouds. The lyrics are here..

Something to say?

