Sport Utility Bike

Here are pictures of my recently built dream city/cargo bike, or as I call it my Sport Utility Bike. I built it around a Nuvinci internal hub and Dynamo Front hub. After lacing those to rims I put them on a Surly Ogre frame. And finally my bike began putting itself together at the end, such as the front rack and trunk bag on the front.

Highlights:

-Continuously variable transmission, there aren’t 8 or 10 gears but infinite gears thanks to the Nuvinci rear hub.
-Generator front hub – Shimano Alfine dynamo.
-Front rack is a rear rack that fits just right.
-Custom made fender hardware to fit fenders at proper height.
-Double legged kickstand that was the hardest thing in the world to install, Thanks Surly!

Full picture album here.

I don’t have any lights hooked up to the dynamo but I hope to make my own this winter. I also am working on making a steering stabilizer spring to hold the front wheel steady when kickstand is engaged.

[EDIT]
Here is some more information on the kickstand. If you have any questions let me know and I’ll try and recreate it. I sadly misused my kickstand and put too much force on it bending the screw and making it perpetually rattle so I have since removed it. The kickstand in combination with the steering stabilizer was amazing though, and it felt as though I was riding a motorcycle with how stiff of a spring I got (so I could load down the front rack and not worry about it moving side to side).

IMG_4173

153cae8c-7df1-40a5-b9d6-bb00a1b0da07

IMG_4175

Something to say?

