Unabashedly Myself

Being yourself is one of the hardest battles in this world. There are many many unseen and seen forces trying to make you what they want, a woman, a man, a consumer, obedient and subservient. Being what people want you to be is not rewarding, what is truly rewarding is being your true self. This is something I have been striving towards for years. And will always be striving towards

To help me along in this path I frequently lean on good friends (thanks everyone!) and occasionally look at motivating quotes about being yourself and similar such motivating quote lists. Here is a sample of some of my favorite motivating quotes:

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken” – Oscar Wilde

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” – Allen Ginsberg

“Don’t you ever let a soul in the world tell you that you can’t be exactly who you are.” – Lady Gaga
“How you spend you day is, of course, how you spend your life” – Annie Dillard

The quest to be yourself and do what you enjoy is hard. You really can’t trust anyone with such desire as important as this. I have been lead astray by people I trusted and shamed by people I love. You really have to go it alone most of the time.

Throughout this quote reading I’ve also been searching for a tattoo to get, I wanted to get a tattoo to describe this feeling of wanting to be yourself and find yourself. Along the way I found another phrase I’d love to get tattooed, “spend your days…” I haven’t found the perfect phrase to tattoo on my other side, the one that explains the need to find who you are and struggle through this quest. It may be as simple as “be yourself”, or “find yourself”. Though I’m content with endless searching for this too – I find out so much in the interim.

One of the most helpful things for me throughout this has been talking and blogging. All that goes on in your head is real, but that’s hard to realize until you say it out loud. That’s when you are finally held accountable for doing what you were thinking about, for being who you know you are. I can’t take back words I’ve said, I can’t take back a blog post. This is real and every real step I take is a real step forward. Whether this is a step of telling a friend who I want to be, or that I’m wearing a bit of eye liner.

In the end of this long journey we all take hopefully you will look around and agree with Dr. Seuss when he says, “You are you. Now isn’t that pleasant.”

Something to say?

