Juxtapose

Through out my time at and around the casbah I made a host of collages from material that I dumpster dove. It was a time that I spent looking through the thin façade of all the lies and conditioning that we are indoctrinated with to make the world around us seem normal and sane. It was a way of of expressing how disturbing and absurd I saw the world.

 

My method was to spend hours looking at images from national geographic, life magazines and any thing that appealed to me from sorting through the dumpster. I would take images that struck me and put them into a suit case. Eventually and idea would form and images would come together in a way that evoked some kind of emotion I was trying to express. Sometimes a sole picture spoke for itself (Like Mao playing Ping Pong) other times they were massive 6 foot long tables but  most of the collages are in a notebook.

100_3324

“What is a Ghost?”

“What is a ghost? A tragedy condemned to repeat itself time and again? An instant of pain, perhaps. Something dead which still seems to be alive. An emotion suspended in time. Like a blurred photograph. Like an insect trapped in amber.” -Guillermo del toro

100_3334

100_3335

“Manifest Your Destiny”

This is from an outrageous cover of a self help book I found in the dumpster with images from “Heart of Darkness” in the back ground.

100_3342

100_3344

100_3345The picture on the right is a young model that committed suicide. I share it only because  a long time after I put this picture in my notebook, I was in the Andy Warhol Musem and walked into a room where this very picture was blown up in a pieces of his that covered a massive wall.

100_3346

100_3340

Table_DayCeu2Ceu

A Massive table that was at the Casbah.

IMG_3891(1)

The_Money_Shot.JPG2The Money Shot

Last equinox I hit the reboot button. I did not feel I needed to express the same emotions any more. I took all of the pictures I collected to make my collages to the top of a mountain and burned them.

Something to say?

