Informed Consent Hormones Pennsylvania: Second Puberty

Hey all! I’m writing this post for two reasons to list the resources I know about for Informed Consent Hormones in Pennsylvania and to tell y’all about my experiences thus far. If you don’t need those resources skip below, if you do enjoy.

So far I know of a few places that have informed consent hormones and a list more that may or may not be specifically informed consent in Pittsburgh in Garden of Peace’s website.
The ones that are informed consent in Pittsburgh are:
Metro Family Practice (which in my experience take most if not all insurances despite facts otherwise. I go here and have felt utmost respect as has my non-binary roommate Jamie who is going there too [they are super cool about the non-binary stuff])
Stacy Lane at West End Health Center(I heard from one person that a questioner they filled out had questions that felt like Dr. Lane may be gender policing a bit, asking whether my friend wore dresses or not.)
East End Community Health Center, which I have heard nothing bad about from the person that I know who goes there.

In Philadelphia I only know of the Mazzoni Center. They are an excellent resource which includes great resources online about name change etc here and I have heard great things about them.

In Harrisburg and Lancaster there are the Alder Health Services which provide informed consent hormones.

I feel that it is very important to better share information in the trans community, especially when this information is essential to new comers. I will be attempting to share information I am finding and cataloguing all the details of my name change for people who are excited about that lengthy exciting process in the coming months. This is also meant to motivate people to not give up hope because I almost drove to Philly before realizing there are 3 informed consent clinics in the city I lived in.

Now to the exciting stuff, changes I’ve felt on my two weeks on estrogen!!! Well first off I’d like to say how validating and exciting this has been for me. I felt torn about taking hormones for a while and was scared of possible side effects. I weighted positives v. negatives and found that there were hardly any negatives and a lot of positives and was compelled to take them and right my body.

The first thing I felt was headaches the first few days. I also got really somber and felt very lonely one day. I ended up going on a long walk and going to a friends house. This feeling passed quickly, though it ended up feeling validating, especially when my roommates just told me I was having my period for the first time (ha).

I have been taking NatureDay supplements for 10 months now and will continue to. They have caused a small amount of breast growth – significantly more after I started using the soap and moisturizer. The introduction of estrogen on top of that has caused noticeable breast growth, even by friends who can feel it in hugs and visibly see a small change in only two weeks!

But the most noticeable thing for me is an increased energy level. Before I struggled to feel a desire to do much of anything now I feel happier and more productive. I don’t know if this is estrogen specifically or simply my body/mind response to it. Either way it feels nice to be even further from the weight of depression.

I also recently talked to a translady who had been on hormones for just shy of a year and she showed me her results at a dance party we were at. Woah. Her breasts, and hips were much much larger. And her face feminized more than I expected not to mention her super soft skin. A week ago I got nervous not being able to pass but after seeing her changes I’m sure I’ll look a lot more effeminate and voice training will certainly help the disconnect I feel with my body. I’m really excited for the year for so many reasons. Haven’t felt that a while so I’m pumped for 2015!

6 thoughts on “Informed Consent Hormones Pennsylvania: Second Puberty

    • Thank you so much! I’m currently trying to figure out how to take my blog from the web into practice with Queer Pittsburgh gatherings, which should be even more fun!

      Also I may not comment much but I read all your blogs. I hope you are doing better since your hospitalization. It sounds like you are taking it in stride.

  1. I didn’t use informed consent (I have friends who did; it’s available at least in pockets in the Midwest, as well, e.g., at Howard Brown in Chicago http://www.howardbrown.org/hb_services.asp?id=37), but I’m really glad to see this revolution rolling out. There needs to be a more constructive dialog, informed by the experiences of actual trans people, about the gatekeeping functions in WPATH’s standards of care.

    Congratulations on your own milestone, lady! I can’t believe I’m rounding on a year on HRT already. It feels so good.

  2. Yes! I hadn’t even thought about changing WPATH’s standards of care, that’s a great idea. Especially in this time of renaissance for trans people.

    Thanks for the congrats, I’m enjoying it very much so far.

  3. Hey so I need a bit of help. I had a guy come to me seeking T and i don’t live in PA, but he’s in Harrisburg and I’m curious as to the contact info to the doc you say is

    “Finally I know that there is someone in Harrisburg that according to a friend of a friend, “give [hormones] out like candy.” So if you want me to look into finding out who this doctor is let me know and I’ll ask my friend for more details”

    If you could help me help him that’d be great

Something to say?

